People

Director

David Finkelhor, Ph.D., Professor of Sociology and Director, Crimes against Children Research Center. Child victimization, child sexual abuse, juvenile justice, missing children, marital rape, and maltreatment of the elderly. e-mail: david.finkelhor@unh.edu.

In memoriam: Murray A. Straus, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Sociology, specialized in intimate partner violence, corporal punishment by parents, child abuse, measurement techniques, stress, rape, and homicide. Straus was internationally influential as the founder of the field of family violence research. He died May 13, 2016 at the age of 89. Straus spent most of his career, from 1968 until his death, at UNH, much of it as director of the Family Research Laboratory. Read more.

Research Faculty and Staff

Sherry L. Hamby, Ph.D., Partner violence, child victimization, sexual assault, measurement techniques, methodology, American Indians and intimate violence, gender and violence. email: sherry.hamby@sewanee.edu

Lisa Jones, Ph.D. Research Associate Professor. Child maltreatment, sexual abuse, child protective service and criminal justice systems, Transtheoretical Model of Change, measurement, evaluation research. E-mail: lisa.jones@unh.edu

Kimberly Mitchell (Lema), Ph.D. Research Associate Professor. Youth Internet Victimization and trauma, exposure to violence, disability and child abuse, and methodology. e-mail: kimberly.mitchell@unh.edu

Anne Shattuck, M.A., Researcher. Juvenile crime victimization, statistical analysis, mapping, and data management. e-mail: ams2@wildcats.unh.edu

Jennifer Vanderminden, Ph.D., Researcher. Juvenile crime victimization, statistical analysis, mapping, and data management. e-mail: vanderminden@gmail.com

Wendy Walsh, Ph.D., Research Associate Professor. email: wendy.walsh@unh.edu

Janis Wolak, J.D., Senior Researcher. Child victimization, Youth Internet use, Internet victimization, child abuse, child witnesses of domestic violence, police reporting, help-seeking. e-mail: janis.wolak@unh.edu

Research Associates

Emily Douglasemily.douglas@bridgew.edu

Denise Hines, dahines@clark.edu

Melissa Holt, Revictimization of adolescents, Dating Violence, Sexual Harassment, Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault, email: holtm@bu.edu

Kathleen Kendall-Tackett, Health effects of victimization, maternal stress and depression, victimization and disability, breastfeeding email: kkendallt@gmail.com

Beth MattinglyGender and family; consequences of intimate partner violence; resiliency in childhood.

David Moore, dmoore62@comcast.net

Zeev Winstokzeevwin@research.haifa.ac.il

Administrative Staff

Doreen Cole, Senior Program Support Assistant, doreen.cole@unh.edu