Philosophy Award & Scholarship Recipients

2017–2018 Award Winners


  • Katy Allen: Malcom and Virginia Smith Award
  • Julian Gale: Barlow Award, Honorable Mention
  • Julian Gale: Neil Lubow Memorial Scholarship
  • Eden Suoth: Create Your Own Story Award
  • Eden Suoth: Critical Language Scholarship from the U.S. Department of State
  • Eden Suoth: Fulbright Scholar
  • Eden Suoth: Hood Achievement Prize
  • Eden Suoth: Student Leader of the Year
  • Clio Walsh: Neil Lubow Memorial Scholarship
  • Andrew Ware: Barlow Award, First Place
  • Rory Wilson: Fulbright Scholar
  • Rory Wilson: Kidder Fund Award Scholarship
  • Rory Wilson: David Hiley Philosophy URC Award


Socratic Society: Phoenix Award


Jennifer Armstrong: 2018 Teaching Excellence Award

2016–2017 Award Winners


  • Nils Babcock: Barlow Award, Honorable Mention
  • Amanda (Mandy) Lathrop: David Hiley Philosophy URC Award
  • Eden Suoth: Class of 1899 Prize
  • Erinn Vittum: College of Liberal Arts Student Fellow
  • Andrew Ware: SURF Abroad Fellowship
  • Rory Wilson: Ambassador with the Taiwan-United States Sister Relations Alliance Summer Scholarship Program 
  • Rory Wilson: Barlow Award, First Place

  2015–2016 Award Winners

Eden Suoth and Prof. Willem deVries, one of two philsophy professors who nominated Eden, at student award ceremony where Eden received a Collaborative Leader Award.


  • Nils Babcock: 2016 Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF)
  • Sean Liston: Neil Lubow Memorial Scholarship
  • Sean Liston: Barlow Award, Honorable Mention
  • Cory McKenzie: Junior Fellows Program of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
  • Eden Suoth: Collaborative Leader Award
  • Eden Suoth: Critical Language Scholarship from the U.S. Department of State
  • Eden Suoth: Alumni Meritorious Service Award
  • Erinn Vittum: John W. McConnell Scholarship
  • Kyle Whittemore: Malcom and Virginia Smith Award
  • Rory Wilson: Collaborative Leader Award
  • Rory Wilson: 2016 UNH McNair Scholar 


  • Charlotte Witt: Fulbright Specialist Scholar

Philosophy department award descriptions