Writers Series


Thursday, Sept. 27, 2018
5 p.m.
210 Hamilton Smith Hall

Ada Limón

Ada Limón is the author of five books of poetry, including Bright Dead Things, which was named a finalist for the 2015 National Book Award in Poetry, a finalist for the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award, a finalist for the 2016 National Book Critics Circle Award, and one of the Top Ten Poetry Books of the Year by The New York Times. Her other books include Lucky WreckThis Big Fake World, and Sharks in the Rivers. She serves on the faculty of Queens University of Charlotte Low Residency M.F.A program, and the 24Pearl Street online program for the Provincetown Fine Arts Work Center. She also works as a freelance writer in Lexington, Kentucky. Her new collection, The Carrying, will be released by Milkweed Editions in August of 2018.



Thursday, Oct. 11, 2018
5 p.m.
210 Hamilton Smith Hall

Tom Piazza

Tom Piazza is celebrated both as a novelist and as a writer on American music. His 12 books include the novels A Free State and City Of Refuge, the post-Katrina manifesto Why New Orleans Matters, and the essay collection Devil Sent The Rain. He was a principal writer for the innovative HBO drama series ‘‘TREME” and the winner of a Grammy Award for his album notes to “Martin Scorsese Presents The Blues: A Musical Journey.” His writing has appeared in The New York Times, The Atlantic, Bookforum, The Oxford American, Columbia Journalism Review, and many other periodicals. He lives in New Orleans.



Thursday, Nov. 29, 2018
5 p.m.
210 Hamilton Smith Hall

Kim Adrian

Kim Adrian is the author of The Twenty-Seventh Letter of the Alphabet, a memoir that David Shields calls “a stunning merger of form and content,” and Sock, which is part of Bloomsbury’s Object Lessons Series and described by the Los Angeles Review of Books as “illuminating, erudite, deeply intelligent.”  Her award-winning stories and essays have appeared in Tin House, Agni, the Gettysburg Review, Brevity, the Seneca Review, and many other places. She is the editor of The Shell Game: Writers Borrow Readymade Forms, which The Millions says “provides a sense of hope about literature and its capacity for evolution and change.” 



Thursday, Feb. 28, 2019
5 p.m.
Location TBA

Peter Mishler

Peter Mishler is the author of Fludde, chosen by Dean Young as winner of the Kathryn A. Morton Prize in Poetry. The book was a selection for The Rumpus Poetry Book Club and was called "must-read poetry" by The Millions. Poems from Fludde have appeared at Conjunctions, Poetry Daily, Best New Poets, Gulf Coast, diode, The Literary Review, and The Winter Anthology. Mishler is the recipient of fellowships and scholarships from Syracuse University and the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference. As an editor, he curates a contemporary poetry interview series for Literary Hub. 


Thursday, March 21, 2019
5 p.m.
Location TBA

Joan Wickersham

Joan Wickersham is a celebrated writer of both fiction and nonfiction. She is the author of The News from Spain, a collection of linked short stories described by the San Francisco Chronicle as “divine,” and The Paper Anniversary, a novel. Her memoir The Suicide Index was a National Book Award finalist.

Her fiction has appeared in Agni, One Story, Glimmer Train, The Hudson Review, New England Review, Ploughshares, and Story, and has been published in The Best American Short Stories and The Best American Nonrequired Reading. Her op-ed column runs regularly in The Boston Globe. She has published essays and reviews in The Los Angeles Times and The International Herald Tribune and has read her work on National Public Radio’s “On Point” and “Morning Edition.” She also writes frequently about architecture, including “The Lurker,” a column she created for Architecture Boston magazine.

She has received the Ploughshares Cohen Award for Best Short Story and has been awarded grants by the National Endowment for the Arts, The Massachusetts Cultural Council, the MacDowell Colony, and Yaddo.


Thursday April 4, 2019
5 p.m.
Location TBA

Noah Burton

Noah Burton is the author of the poetry collection, Look Out Animal. He has been a Student Day of Poetry workshop leader for Mass Poetry and the Mass Poetry Festival, as well as an adjunct at various colleges. He holds a BA in philosophy from Virginia Commonwealth University ('11) and an MFA in poetry from the University of New Hampshire ('15). He is a recipient of the 2015 Dick Shea Memorial Prize in Poetry judged by Tanya Larkin. 


Jennifer Latson

Jennifer Latson is the author of The Boy Who Loved Too Much, a narrative nonfiction book about a rare genetic disorder that makes people irrepressibly friendly and kind. The book was one of LitHub’s top 10 science titles of 2017 and included in the New York Times Paperback Row. Latson’s work has appeared in Psychology Today, the Wall Street Journal, the Boston Globe, Time, and other publications. She has an MFA in creative nonfiction from UNH and a BA in English from Yale. In 2013, she was a recipient of the Norman Mailer Fellowship for nonfiction. A former newspaper reporter, she worked most recently at the Houston Chronicle. She now works as a writer and editor for Rice University's Jones Graduate School of Business, where she contributes to the school's alumni and faculty research magazines.


Benjamin Ludwig

Benjamin Ludwig is the author of the novel Ginny Moon, a Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers selection, an Indie Next and Library Reads pick, and one of Amazon.com’s 20 Best Books of 2017. The book received starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly, Library Journal, BookPage, and Booklist. To date it has been published in eighteen countries. His novella Sourdough was the recipient of the 2013 Clay Reynolds Prize for the Novella. A former English teacher and new-teacher mentor in the public schools, he lives in New Hampshire.


The UNH Writers Series is made possible through the support of the MacArthur/Simic and Edmund G. Miller Funds and the Ben and Zelma Dorson Family Charitable Foundation. 

Please contact the UNH English Department for more information about this year's speakers, or with questions about speakers we have brought to campus in previous years. Phone: (603) 862-1313