English Department Writing Awards

The 2020 Writing Awards submission window is now closed.


2019 winners will be announced
Thursday, April 30



Thomas Williams Memorial Award

In memory of former UNH professor and National Book Award winning novelist, Thomas Williams. The Thomas Williams Memorial Fund was established with gifts from private donors.  This Award recognizes excellence in graduate student fiction writing.

Richard M. Ford Writing Award

This Fund was established by Mr. and Mrs. William J. Ford in memory of their son Richard M. Ford, a member of the Class of 1980.  The Ford Memorial Fund provides one to three annual awards, one to a student majoring in Chemistry (and awarded by that department), and one to an undergraduate student involved in the writing courses (fiction, nonfiction, poetry) in the English Department.  It is the donor’s intent to honor undergraduate scholarship, creativity, and academic achievement.  Financial need is not to be considered as a factor in making this award.

Dick Shea Memorial Award

This award was established by friends and family in memory of Richard John Shea, Class of 1961, and will be granted to the undergraduate or graduate student showing creativity in writing poetry or fiction.

Lt. Albert A. Charait Award

This Fund was established by Mrs. Charait in memory of her husband who died in action during WWII.  This gift will be awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student who writes the best short story.

Michael Kelly Memorial Scholarship

This fund is established in memory of Michael Kelly, Class of 1979, who died covering the war in Iraq.  This Scholarship supports sophomore and junior students who have been active in, and are passionate about, journalism.  Recipients need not be journalism majors.  Preference will be given to highly-motivated original thinkers, without reference to gpa.  Please submit a cover letter, essay, and up to five published newspaper or magazine articles are required.  The essay should be 750-800 words describing your journalism experience, your passion for journalism, and your plans for any future work connected with journalism. 

Nonfiction Prize Gift

This prize was established by a variety of sources, including the NH Press Women in memory of Ann Marie LeClair and the Charles Simic MacArthur fund, and rewards outstanding work in narrative nonfiction by a graduate student. Submissions may include research-based narratives, personal essay, or memoir of no more than 5,000 words.