Faculty Ensembles

Many of our faculty maintain their own musical ensembles either with other Department faculty or with others in the greater music community, such as:

The Faculty Jazz Quintet

The Faculty Jazz Sextet includes Nathan Jorgensen, saxophone; David Newsam, guitar; Mark Shilansky, piano; Bronek Suchanek, bass; Les Harris Jr., drums and various guest artists. For information regarding the Faculty Jazz Sextet, please contact: Nathan Jorgensen, Department of Music, Paul Creative Arts Center, University of New Hampshire, Durham, NH 03824, Call: 1-603-862-2404 or email nathan.jorgensen@unh.edu.

The New Hampshire Trio

The New Hampshire Trio comprises UNH faculty members Karl Orvik (violin), Jacques Lee Wood (cello) and Mathilde Handelsmann (piano).  In addition to performing regularly on the UNH campus, the trio also concertizes throughout New England, and presents chamber music masterclasses at numerous high schools and music programs in the region.