Peter Urquhart

Phone: (603) 862-3257
Office: Music, Paul Creative Arts Center Rm M215, Durham, NH 03824
Peter Urquhart

Peter Urquhart is a musicologist and conductor. He studied composition, performance and music history and received degrees in musicology and conducting from Westminster Choir College and Smith College, and a Ph.D. from Harvard University. His academic research centers on problems of pitch and structure in Franco-Flemish music of the 15th and 16th centuries. He is an associate professor at UNH where he teaches history and theory, and runs the T-Hall Carillon; he is also the director of Capella Alamire, an ensemble specializing in the performance of Renaissance music, and the UNH-based ensemble Alamire Consort. For the work behind the first of Capella Alamire's eight recordings, he won the American Musicological Society's Noah Greenberg Award. He is also one of the editors of the New Josquin Edition (Utrecht). Sabbatical grants from the NEH and from the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton have resulted in a book about non-notated accidentals in music, c.1500, the so-called "musica ficta" problem, in press in 2019 (Peeters).


  • Ph.D., Music, Harvard University
  • M.A., Music, Smith College
  • M.M., Conducting, Westminster Choir College
  • A.B., Chemistry, Princeton University

Research Interests

  • Theory and music of the renaissance

Courses Taught

  • MUSI 401: Introduction to Music
  • MUSI 402: Survey of Classical Music
  • MUSI 571: Theory II
  • MUSI 572: Theory II
  • MUSI 595: Spc Topics in Music Literature
  • MUSI 703/803: Music of the Renaissance
  • MUSI 705/805: Music of the Baroque
  • MUSI 707/807: Music of the Classical Period
  • MUSI 959: Musicology Seminar

Selected Artistic Activities & Publications

Du bon du cueur: Music by Bauldeweyn, Mouton, Willaert, and others. (2011). Retrieved from

Music of Pierrequin de Thérache (2003). Retrieved from

Urquhart, P. W. (n.d.). Sound and Sense in Franco-Flemish Music of the Renaissance: Sharps, Flats, and the Problem of "Musica ficta". Leuven, Belgium: Peeters Publishers. Retrieved from